Recently, I found myself in a situation where I was reading a book that I couldn’t find the edition for. I started off by choosing a random, older edition
and took some highlights, A week later, I added the edition of the book I’m reading personally.
When I did so, I had to migrate the higlights from the edition I was temporarily using to my book’s edition. While I only had 2 highlights at the time, I can see how with more highlights, this would become an unbearable process.
One reason I cared about this was so my highlights would match the page number, such that I could always revisit them if desired. Also, it made matched the page numbers for my reading progress. I’m not sure if I’m the only one with this issue, as someone may have mispicked the wrong edition in the past.
I can understand that the only issue might be that other users who’ve made a comment on my highlight would find their comment migrated as well, but is that an issue?